Upcoming Tweet Jam on the Convergence of Emerging Technologies hosted by The Open Group

At first Gartner picked up the thought and named it ‘The Nexus of Forces’. IDC coined the term ‘third platform’ and The Open Group established a new forum named ‘Platform 3.0′. All of them recognized that there are several (emerging) technologies that are likely to converge in the future and potentially change the way businesses and people engage with each other. The lists and names of the technologies in scope differ depending on the organizations named before. In general they refer to the following technologies: social media, cloud computing, mobile computing, Internet of things and processing of big data.

From the perspective of the discipline of enterprise architecture management this convergence raises the question if (major) architectural changes are required to cope with this development.

To encourage knowledge exchange on this question, The Open Group will host a tweet jam on Thursday, June 6 at 9:00 a.m. PT/12:00 p.m. ET/5:00 p.m. GMT (see this blog post).

Please find below an initial set of links suggested for further reading.

Gartner

IDC

The Open Group

About these ads

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s